Tags

, , ,

Like a lot of people, I have a good number of apps on my phone and on a tablet.  I have different a different OS for each, so can more or less get the full benefit of what is on offer.  Interestingly, and probably because of the recent turn of the year, there have been a lot of apps advertised for both physical exercise and what has come to be known as brain training.  As a dutiful IT geek, I downloaded some.  After all, they are good for us, aren’t they?  I doubt I’m the only one.

The idea is simple, and thousands across the globe have the same one.  A few fun games to keep the mind active, maybe not every day, but a few times a week.  A fitness guide to help keep the body in shape, or a better one, without the cost, or embarrassment of a gym membership.

The brain training would always be the easier to manage.  Very little preparation, turn on the tablet and play a few games.  Easy to do in-between chores, at lunch time, just before bed or just after waking up.  I have had some interesting results, early morning or last thing at night have not been the disasters in terms of scoring that one might assume.  That aside, I was practicing daily, until about a fortnight ago and it just stopped being interesting.  Maybe I just have a short tolerance for things or need a new challenge.  The games were ‘repeating’ but that hadn’t been an issue at first.

The physical training app appealed because of the time scale.  Seven minutes a day for the routine.  Shouldn’t be an issue.  That short a period of time should be easy to fit in.  So far, and you might have seen this coming, I’ve managed to do zero sessions.  It’s still on the tablet and I do intend to do them.  The problem is that I sit on the sofa after work and then don’t really feel like doing much more.  Yes I’ll do chores, meals etc, but the idea of exercise just goes out of the mind.  Maybe it’s because I’m quite active and relatively fit that means that I feel less urgency.

I’m positive that I am not the only person in this situation, with both brain training and physical training.  Despite what I’ve written above, I’m not worried about not following through on these app opportunities.  Possibly the fact that I don’t set goals in the way that some might (see previous posts) is part of the problem.

However is that the same for everyone?  We get told that people’s attention spans are considerably less now than in the past.  Does this also extend to things like interest in computer apps?  Is it just a ‘fad’ thing where an app gets downloaded because it is recommended or promoted.  (The two I downloaded were through promotions and I didn’t go looking for them).  I suspect there’s a research project in there somewhere.  I’m sure the data for length of time apps have been downloaded for before being removed is out there.  I also suspect that there is a clear divide between ‘entertainment apps’ and ‘benefit apps’.  I don’t have the qualifications for doing the research, so I’ll have to leave it to someone else to pick up on.

Hopefully this post will help encourage me more with the training apps as I can probably post again as a follow up.

