Tags

, , , , , ,

OK, so I know that last time I posted about doing a science experiment in the garden it wasn’t really science. This time though, it is genuine science. It’s even science backed by academia!

I’m taking part in an experiment to look at insect pollination in urban green spaces and to see just how active the bees are.

For this I’ve getting some free beans. I have to grow them from seed but that’s not an issue. In return, as well as obviously helping a scientific study, I should get some beans to eat. Three scenarios are being tested. One where no pollinators get access the plant, one where hand pollination only will take place and one where the plants are left alone to see how much pollination takes place naturally.

So far it’s early days and the beans are just being sprouted in the dark. I’m having to check them regularly for mold but at the moment I have about half of the beans sprouting at the moment and am hoping more will sprout in the next few days as I’m planning on planting them out into pots over the weekend.

I will be interested to see how things go in terms of the comparisons. This will be not only within my own garden, but also comparing my garden with others in the area (if I get to see that information). I like to think that I have a relatively bee friendly garden while still allowing for a modern feel as well. I suppose in due course I will find out how bee friendly it is.   I have already seen some bumblebees, so I’m taking that as a good sign.

I’ll keep you all posted on how things develop as they do as part of the gardening posts that I make.

