Tags

, , , , , ,

I realise I haven’t posted for a while, but that’s mainly because I’ve been busy riding through the desert of Tucson and enjoying myself far too much.

I’ll be posting more about the holiday in due course (once I’m over the jet lag which seems to be worse than ever this time). However I wanted to do a quick post to just keep the blog going and to note something general about the holiday.

It’s often said that second time around things are rarely as good. This applies to a whole host of things, not just holidays. There is a lot of truth in that statement. The initial impact, the moment of total surprise can often be what makes something special and with that gone, it fades into the ordinary. It may still be a favourite, (like a re-watchable film) but you know what is coming. This sense can lead to disappointment. This can be especially disappointing when on holiday if the longed for holiday doesn’t live up to its previous expectations. More so when it’s been a costly holiday.

Happily my recent trip has not suffered from that in the slightest. I did know there would be stuff that I hadn’t done previously that I could this time, but even so, there is always that thought in the back of the mind as to how it will be. I now know I don’t have to worry about such doubts for the future. Twice now I have been to the ranch, both times as a solo traveller, knowing no-body who would be there. Twice now I have come away with a wonderful riding experience and a great new group of friends from around the globe.

I know that this doesn’t always happen and I believe that I am lucky to have found somewhere that manages to keep the magic going. It is, without doubt, due to the hard work of all the staff there to create the feeling that makes people want to come back again and again. There are some who have been going for decades and that should say something.

Keep an eye open for the actual holiday blogs that I will be putting up later in the week and probably into the next!

