Tags

, , , , , ,

Behaviour, or rather miss-behaviour is something that many of us would have opinions on. There has also been a shift in what people consider good behaviour and bad behaviour over the decades. Many people’s behaviour that would have been deemed unacceptable a couple of decades ago now would just be shrugged off as just a ‘bit of a laugh’, or in some instances has been turned into entertainment for the masses.

I’ve recently witnessed a couple examples of what for me would be considered unacceptable behaviour that the individuals involved are probably considering as totally normal. Both of these were cinema based.

There is nothing so annoying as others in the audience that ruin a film for the rest of the people watching. This is nothing new, but at a recent showing, I felt this was being taken to a new level. In my youth I remember seeing the film Grease and having people a couple of rows behind singing along to all the songs. OK, so it didn’t ruin the film and now there are even ‘Sing-a-long’ showing of certain films where joining in is expected however it would have been nicer not to have had the 3D Surround Sound a few decades early. I also remember how the 12A rating lead to a film being ruined when, I assume, the parent wasn’t willing to wait to see the film, took a young child which didn’t like the content and spent a load of the film crying loudly. Spoilt it for the rest of us, and I would assume themselves.

More recently though I had to sit through a film where a group of young people seemed to feel that just because they were in the cinema it didn’t need to affect their conversations.   This I know is nothing very new, but I doubt that the thought that it wasn’t the place to do so ever entered into their minds. After all we now live in a world where individual rights take precedence over anything else, especially other people’s individual rights. The linking of responsibility to go with those rights is not even up for debate for some.

Also of interest was that this same group had their mobile phones out and in use throughout the film. I was trying to ignore them, difficult when they shine a bright light. Again, not the time or place and I was wondering why they had paid as much as cinema’s charge now to more or less ignore the film. (It was a good film just for the record).

Thankfully I was still able to enjoy the film and managed, with a few exceptions, to block out the poor behaviour for the most part. However I fear that in the future this will become the norm for what to expect given the changes mentioned at the start of the post. With the increasing cost of going, it makes me more likely to wait for the release on DVD and to view it that way.

The cinema industry has done a wonderful job of pulling itself out of a decline in decades past. I only hope, given that it is at its best, a better experience to watching at home, that such behaviour does not become the norm and lead to a decline in attendance as I am sure I would not be the only one to be put off attending.

