Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

So far it’s a strange Christmas for me. In some respects, despite having the tree up and decorated in good time, the presents all wrapped, international cards posted, national cards posted and hand delivered ones sorted it doesn’t feel like Christmas is less than a week away. I’ve been trying to work out why.

I’ve not attended the staff Christmas functions this year. A range of reasons why that aren’t for this blog. However should an event where people will just eat too much, possibly drink too much and feel rough the next day get me in the ‘Christmas Mood’. I don’t think it’s that.

I’ve mentioned previously that the Radio Times normally signals the start of Christmas for me. I have a copy. Have had it for quite some time now. (I think that by chance that I picked it up on the day it came out). Is it that I manged to get it so early part of the fact that it doesn’t feel like Christmas yet.

The weather here is unusual for the time of year.   The fact that with less than a week to go we’re still in double figures temperature wise making me feel that it’s not really winter yet, or at least winter at Christmas time. I’m not saying we should have snow all around for that feeling. I’ve had plenty of non-white Christmas’. However there is something odd about the daffodils in the garden starting to flower at Christmas.

Have I just been too busy with other things that have meant that I haven’t felt that the Christmas season is upon us? We lead such busy lives that often things ‘sneak up’ on us. I can’t really claim that I’m surprised by it given I’ve got everything prepared and ready early, but the time does seem to have gone by very quickly, especially December, and is the fact that it feels like such a short month that the end of it doesn’t quite seem as if it should be approaching.

I’m not looking for answers, I’m just curious that this year I don’t feel exceptionally festive. Maybe it will come. There’s still a few days left and maybe it will happen, but just a little late. I hope so, as Christmas is a special time of year and I want it to be, rather than for it to feel that it’s just another day.

I am going to guess that I am not alone in this, and there will be many people for who the above may apply and they may well have a host of additional reasons that they don’t feel very ‘Christmassy’. However I hope, that I, and those in a similar boat, will get to feel that it is Christmas and it is a special time.

So in that light, may I wish everyone a Merry Christmas, whether you feel ‘Christmassy’ or not yet!

